World Fantasy Award Winners 2011

Here’s the 2011 list of World Fantasy Award Winners from the 10/27 – 10/30 convention in San Diego, CA.

Best Novel

Who Fears Death by Nnedi Okorafor

Best Novella
The Maiden Flight of McCauley’s Bellerophon by Elizabeth Hand (from Stories: All New Tales)

Best Short Fiction
Fossil Figures by Joyce Carol Oates (also from Stories: All New Tales)

Best Anthology
My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me edited by Kate Bernheimer

Best Collection
What I Didn’t See and Other Stories by Karen Joy Fowler

Best Artist
Kinuko Y. Craft

Special Award, Professional
Marc Gascoigne for Angry Robot

Special Award, Non-Professional
Alisa Krasnostein for Twelfth Planet Press

Lifetime Achievement 2011
Peter S. Beagle and Angélica Gorodischer

My first question is if Stories: All New Tales had the stories that won Best Novella and Best Short Story, how does it lose Best Anthology? I’m also disappointed that The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms didn’t win Best Novel. That was one of the most original works I’ve read in a long time. Of course seeing as how I haven’t read the book that won I guess I shouldn’t really be comparing. Oh and Peter S. Beagle is just now winning the lifetime achievement award? Wtf?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s