The Lies of Locke Lamora

Doing support for a retail chain is absolutely no fun in the weeks leading up to Black Friday/Cyber Monday. Let’s not even talk about those actual days. Oy.

Anyway!

Now that I’ve fully recovered from the crush at work and all the relatives at home, I’m ready to get back in the swing of things here. As my life the last few weeks consisted solely of work and preparing for family there isn’t really much to report other than I was finally able to finish The Lies of Locke Lamora last night.

What did I think? I really enjoyed it. I’m really digging the more mature (read: they curse!) fantasy that has been coming out the last few years and I suppose this one falls in to that subset. Was there anything super original in the book? Nah. It hit a lot of well-worn fantasy tropes, but it did all of them in a really enjoyable way.

While some of the plots run by the Gentlemen Bastards were pretty obvious there were still a few surprises in the book. And thank goodness for the quips and one-liners from Locke and crew in parts of the book. Without them some of the more violent scenes would have been almost too gruesome to enjoy.

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch is a book that I can comfortably say I’d recommend to anyone else who shares my predilection for con men, witty repartee and fantasy fiction. Anyone out there read the second book in the series? I’ll probably track that down after Christmas if I can’t talk my better half in to letting me buy it beforehand.

I’m doing a cut here because the next part of what I have to say would be kind of a spoiler for anyone who hasn’t yet read the book. If you’re reading this via the TINEB feed I suggest you stop reading here if you don’t like mild spoilers.

Was anybody else surprised that Sabetha – Locke’s mystery love – didn’t show up to help save the day at the end of the book? I kept excepting it – with a mild roll of my eyes – and I was pleasantly surprised not to see that happen.

6 thoughts on “The Lies of Locke Lamora

    • It is certainly well worth reading. I’m trying oh so hard to not buy any new books till after Christmas because I’m hoping I receive a Kindle (I better, anyway. I’ve been dropping hints to my better half since early summer!), but I may break down and get the second book in the series if I see it on the shelf during my next bookstore visit.

  1. Read the second book. and read it slowly. Otherwise you’ll miss what’s happening. ;)

    Lynch has become one of my favorite fantasy writers. and all the adult content (swearing!)? has me giggling my head off every time I read his stuff, and trust me, I’ve read his books over and over again. His style of writing and what he writes about is everything I want to find in a fantasy story – adventure, con-artists, love stories gone bad, minimal magic, horrible bad guys, and friends who will die for each other. If you can’t tell, I am a huge Lynch fan!

Leave a Reply

