The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

I’d like to start this review of The Name of the Wind by saying I really, really enjoyed this book. Why am I making sure I’m pointing this out right away, you ask? Because I’d like to follow that up by saying good grief do I not like the main character very much at all.

Kvothe annoys me. Kvothe annoys me a lot. From being repeatedly told how smart he is, to the constant reminders that women want him but he’s too naive to realize it, et cetera, et cetera. Seriously. Is there anything the guy isn’t the best at? Argh. The dude drives me nuts. Yet – as I said – I really, really liked this book.

The setting of the book is great, I absolutely love the magic system that Rothfuss has created (sympathetic magic for the win!) and I found each and every other character in this book interesting and well-drawn and I want to know more about all of them. Which also means I suppose I kind of do like Kvothe. As the book is – for the most part – told from Kvothe’s point of view I have to give the character credit for telling a damn good story.

All in all Rothfuss has written one of the more original fantasy stories of the last few years and I’m looking forward to reading the next books in the series.

One thought on “The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

  1. The story is so much more interesting when I’m not a fan of the main character. Not when the charachter is badly written, you know, but when I don’t like the MC for some reason. I feel that way about Neb in the Psalms of Isaac series by Ken Scholes.

Leave a Reply

