The Last Werewolf by Glen Duncan

I am so glad the holidays are over so I can relax and get back to my hobbies. Like this blog.

Anyway…

Does anyone else do New Year’s resolutions? I decided one of my resolutions was that life is too short to read books I’m not enjoying. Sadly, I finished The Last Werewolf by Glen Duncan on the 31st.

Why sadly? Because I really, really did not like this book. While I’ll be the first to admit that I come in to werewolf stories with a bias against them from the start I don’t think my intense dislike for this book springs solely from of that.

If this book had not been written in the first person I think I would have enjoyed it more, because the world Duncan has created was extremely interesting. Especially WOCOP (World Organisation for the Control of Occult Phenomena) and the 50 Families. Alas, it was written from the point of view of Jake Marlowe. I realize he’s lost a lot of his humanity over the centuries, but I need something about him to enjoy if I’m going to read a whole book from his point of view. Instead I get to hear about his wolf-boner and love for anal sex every few pages. Blah.

Seriously, the only reason I even finished this book was because I was hoping he’d get caught and killed in a slow and painful way.

Leave a Reply

